I’m a Cookie Monster for a Few Days!!!

Day after my first chemo: Woke up pretty shaky and a little nauseated.  I can definitely feel the chemicals sitting in my body. I am drinking lots of green tea, water and eating cookies for the nausea…nice…cookies..cookie monster is what I’m going to be for a few days till this passes.  Medicinal cookies makes the nausea go away. The alternative makes you no go poopie….but you don’t throw up either and those combination, I rather not have…lololol…sorry, yall know I’m graphic and I cleaned this one up.  I have been told your energy level drops on the third day when your white blood cells decline. So, friends, if you have the sneezes or tummy contagious things, please don’t come around me, I can’t get sick my immune system is compromised…OR let me know and we both can wear masks…if for our own peace of mind, I don’t get sick and it won’t make you feel bad that I caught something from you.  Not being bitchy here, just being real…cause y’all know I hate not hanging with my peeps. I love so many of you out there it is unbelievable to me that I have so many friends and supporters. I am one blessed woman.

Now, here is something that came in my mailbox this morning…

“There are only miracles, Sam, and to one degree or another they all soothe, pamper, and enrich. However, to avoid blowing too many minds at once, some are disguised as unpleasant surprises, botched circumstances, and twisted acquaintances that can rarely be seen for who or what they truly are until the pendulum has fully swung. Yes, don’t I think of everything?The Universe (this is directed to me today for sure)”

Really knocked my socks off when I read that…think that is going to be my mantra for this whole crappy thing I’m going to be journeying in the next year…till I get to the other side and find out my prize. Cause I deserve a tiara after this one Babies…and any other woman that has gone through this disease. There are so many survivors and that is a comforting thought to me TODAY! The unfortunate thing is that I have meet a lot of survivors and that makes me sad. So many women are coming down with this. I met three at our little market over the weekend who were either had been sick or relative/sister came down diagnosed with this damn cancer, breast cancer. And I have faith that this is a little another bump in the road for me and I too will be a survivor. I have actually had someone say to me, at least you only have breast cancer! This made me feel mad, glad and sad, Breast can has high rate of survival but sometimes not, sometimes it is the pre cursor for more…so thanks?for?the?backhanded?wish?complement? You know who you are!

Yesterday with completed with a little help from my friends….I could not been as comfortable or safe without these two ladies holding my hand.

My two angels....

My Two Angels....

.

It only hurt yesterday when the first put the IV in my arm…and boy did it hurt, in my forearm inside about an inch….damn…buddy, it was a bitch and a half….Don’t move Ms. VanBibber…and I screamed….I don’t do well with needles-and each time a new surge of chemicals went inside of me it hurt a lot. Other than feeling exhausted from no sleep the night before, chemicals surging through my body killing nasty cancer cells, eating bad hospital food…they called it food! And just scared out of my ass….I did fine. Lace and I got a little closer and that was a very good thing. Basically, the Universe email I got this morning states my condition exactly. Kinda screwed but will have a good ending. I will ruminate later to you. Need to lay down.

Happy Lady a the end of the day...

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m a Cookie Monster for a Few Days!!!

  1. Angela Obenhaus says:

    Girl, you are still looking good, even going through chemo…keep that head up! What lovely ladies to be there for you. If I didn’t know better, it would look like ya’ll were at a social event. Wishing you love and health! I believe that your posts really make a difference. Perhaps you should combine them someday and create a book for other’s going through the same thing. Just a thought.

  2. Thank you Angela…I’ve been told this many times now, think I should listen….make a book…I personally don’t think its all that but some people think otherwise. And it was a party in a weird sort of way. Fist Chemo party and I’m looking so forward to the last one too….yippie….sam

  3. Amanda Lester says:

    I love you Sam! I’m saying a little prayer to whoever will listen to get you better ASAP so we can meet up for some sushi, sake and dancing 🙂

  4. Randy says:

    Well,I must say, you are certainly the cutest chemo receiver I have ever seen. those big girl panties seem to be fitting pretty good! Love you!!

  5. Noreen says:

    Are you supposed to be drinking green tea? Maybe we had different chemotherapies? That was one of the few things they told me to avoid…. Hope you are feeling well today! Did you have to go for the neulasta shot?

  6. miz jewelz says:

    Mmmmmm….. cookies! Big girl panties! Green tea, hmmm, never heard a thing about avoiding it — antioxidants are good for you (you just might to make sure you have decaf, miss energy ball!). Another thing that my nutritionist recommended was adding tumeric, which is a natural detoxifier, to whatever I liked. Speaking of which, if you want food advice, I bet they’d be happy to introduce you to a nutritionist on staff.

    Big thing is EVERYONE’S experience is different. You already know that this is not a one-size-fits-all disease. Figger out what’s gonna work best for you, don’t let anyone tell you that you HAVE to do it such-n-such a way. You have choices, be it treatment or surgical or whatever!

    p.s. Don’t forget that if you need help navigating things at Anderson, Mom (& I) both worked there. And Mom is still active there. 🙂

  7. Adine Rotman says:

    Hey Sam,

    I agree that your blog would make a great book and Lifeisshortdancefast is a great title. I am praying for you and sending you lots of hugs. Love, Adine

    • thanks Adine…this is getting to be no no fun. If I wrote the absoulte truth, noone could really read it. I hurt, I feel bad…really out of sorts, want to throw up, can’t go to the bathroom…crazy thoughts and worse no thoughts…

Leave a Reply

